Teamocil

Before Collin and I can verbally brawl on this site, we need some context. Before I show you my baseball team (Teamocil) in our league, I have to give you guys some context. In case you’re wondering the origin of the name, in this league I have vowed to only use names from the show “Arrested Development.” If you’ve never seen the show, I highly recommend watching it. Yes, it’s been cancelled, but that doesn’t mean Hulu can’t help you out with that.

The league is a keeper auction league, which I’ve decided is pretty much the best type of baseball league ever. Football is a different story, but for baseball, nothing matches an auction keeper league. Any one of the other 19 owners in my two leagues can attest to that. For those who don’t have any idea what that is, refer to Collin’s post below. I’ll expand on the keeper issue:

A keeper league means you can keep players from one year to the next, which means young, cheap players are more valuable than Scott Rolen. Wait, bad example. More valuable than Troy Glaus. Wait…dammit. Considering those two guys are two of the least valuable fantasy assets in the world, I’m going to say a young cheap player like Andrew McCutchen (who I own for the large sum of one dollar) is more valuable than Bobby Abreu. Yeah, that works.

Okay, here’s my team, with their monetary value and if they were a keeper next to them:

Catcher – Russell Martin – $6
First Base – Ryan Howard – $48
Second Base – Robinson Cano – $8 (Kept)
Third Base – Pablo Sandoval – $2 (Kept)
Shortstop – Asdrubal Cabrera – $1
Outfield – Curtis Granderson – $30
Outfield – Manny Ramirez – $19
Outfield – Carlos Gonzalez – $1 (Kept)
Outfield – Andrew McCutchen – $1 (Kept)
Utility – Kendry Morales – $1 (Kept)
Bench – Jason Heyward – $2 (Acquired via trade) (That’s right, bitches, he’s mine for three years)
Bench – Everth Cabrera – $1 (Acquired via free agency)
Bench – Garrett Jones – $1 (Acquired via free agency)

Bow Before Me

Pitcher – Yovani Gallardo – $10 (Kept)
P – Jake Peavy – $19
P – Cole Hamels – $20
P – Jered Weaver – $10
P – A.J. Burnett – $9 (Acquired via trade)
P – Chad Billingsley – $18 (Acquired via trade)
P – Scott Baker – $14
P – Carlos Zambrano – $2
P – Phil Hughes – $2
Bench – Jeff Niemann – $1 (Acquired via free agency)
Bench – Stephen Strasburg – ………….uhhhhh……..$27…..*slaps forehead*

There you have it. Currently sixth place, but until today, I was in 2nd place. Stupid early season standings fluctuations. I’ve had some pitching struggles that should turn around (Gallardo, Peavy), some that I really hope will turn around but won’t hold my breath for (Zambrano), and an offense that’s slightly overachieving (except Heyward. I would argue he’s underachieving at this point in his career). I traded Jorge Cantu and Joakim Soria for Heyward and Burnett with Alex Bleiweis (Jabula, the co-star of this masterpiece) and Lance Berkman for Chad Billingsley straight up with Ben Holgash (team name Grundle Lice…gross). So that’s how we got here.

I clearly need more pitching, yet also more offense. Not a good problem to have. I’ll remain active on the waiver wire (we’ll see which Cabrera outperforms the other) and jump on Madison Bumgarner when he gets called up. Criticize below.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Holgash on April 20, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Thanks for reminding me about Bumgarner and all my mistakes in the bench draft.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

