What team did Babe Ruth play for before the Red Sox?

The answer is the same team name (although different team) that, in 1884, had a pitcher win 59 or 60 games depending on who you ask, Charles “Old Hoss” Radbourn (ah the nicknames of the 1800s, they just reek of baseball).

The team has the same name as the one that became undisputed world champions in 1884 and disbanded in 1885.  After disbanding, the team name caught on again in the early 1900s for a minor league ballclub that had a player named George Hermann Ruth on its roster.  The team name is the Providence Grays, the pride of Rhode Island.  Naturally, this is my fantasy team name.

Just so you all know what Ethan is up against, I have listed my roster, along with auction values and keepers, below.  Prepare to be jealous, amazed and positively certain I will win this league.  Also, notice the number of players I acquired by trade, a crucial part of a villainous strategy.

Catcher: Brian McCann $10 (acquired via trade)

First Base: Adrian Gonzalez $10 (acquired via trade and kept by previous team)

Second Base: Casey McGeehee $1 (picked up free agency)

Third Base: Evan Longoria $32 (kept by me, traded away, and reacquired via trade)

Shortstop: Troy Tulowitzki $5 (kept by me)

Outfield: Shin-Soo Choo $1 (kept by me)

Outfield: Ryan Braun $53 (first auction player actually still on my team, if you actually click the link I worked so hard to put on his name, maybe you would understand why)  Fun fact: As site administrators, we can see if you guys are clicking links, and you aren’t.  Not that it really matters, just thought you’d like to know how all-knowing we are.

Outfield: Jacoby Ellsbury $14 (acquired via trade and kept by previous team)

Outfield: Ryan Luckwick $1 (picked up via free agency, by far the weakest link on the team, not even close)

Utility: David Wright $35 (can’t explain why I like him so much, but I actually got him in the auction too)

Bench: Martin Prado $2 (acquired in bench draft)

DL: Brian Roberts $28 (acquired in auction by me, traded away, and reacquired via trade)

DL: Ian Kinsler $37 (acquired via trade) Yeah, I know.  I have way too many second basemen.  I’ll take care of it.  All part of my strategy which will appear on this blog as time goes on.  Admit it though, you’re kind of impressed, you didn’t think you’d see Kinsler down here.

P: Brian Wilson $12 Unlike Ethan, I actually like points, and therefore have closers.

P: Carlos Marmol $5

P: Ryan Madson $1 (picked up via free agency)

P: Chris Perez $1 (traded for)

P: Justin Verlander $1 (kept)

P: Chris Carpenter $1 (kept) Yeah, I know, I’m a genius.

P: Josh Beckett $24 (acquired via trade)

P: Edwin Jackson $7 (acquired via trade)

P: John Lackey $12

P: Rich Harden $22 (acquired via trade) obviously, I’d never pay this much for Harden, I actually was shocked seeing how much he went for…

P: Justin Duscherer $1 (picked up via free agency)

P: Dallas Braden $1 (picked up via free agency)

P: Daisuke Matsuzaka $1 (picked up via free agency)

So basically, if you made it this far down without passing out with jealousy at one of the greatest teams ever, just be grateful you got to witness such a team.  Obviously the second basemen will turn into a replacement for Ludwick and pitching upgrades through trades, so it only stands to get better.  Until June, however, one only needs to worry about the value on the team, not the positions of the actual players.

Comment and let me know how sick my team is compared to Ethan’s.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Theresa on April 20, 2010 at 1:11 am

    You like David Wright because he is sexy. And because I am married to him.
    Thanks.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jabula on April 20, 2010 at 10:32 am

    ” Obviously the second basemen will turn into Ludwick”

    unlike you to have any sort of errors in writing.

    Reply

  3. No no, you misunderstood him. The second basemen will literally morph into a sentient super-being named “Ludwick,” not unlike “Cloverfield.” Sorry for the misunderstanding

    Reply

  4. Posted by Holgash on April 20, 2010 at 11:03 am

    Jabula,

    I think it’s Collin’s cocky way of saying he’s going to flip one of the second basemen for an OF upgrade over Ludwick and the other for a pitching upgrade as well. He probably thinks he’ll be able to include Ludwick in the deal as well haha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

