Tragedy strikes Providence Grays

Every fantasy season involves a number of crises for even the most successful fantasy owners.  I had my first of the season today.

So after a trade a week ago when I acquired Jacoby Ellsbury, who was out with a minor injury, I took a hit of a few days without a 4th outfielder.  Today, Ellsbury went on the DL.  I only have 4 outfielders in a league that starts four.  Ellsbury’s absence means I have a hole in the lineup.  I can’t really drop any hitters (besides Ludwick, but he’s already starting in the outfield).  I decided to open up a spot on the DL for Ellsbury by dropping Daisuke Matsuzaka, who has been on the DL all year and was a risky proposition anyways.  When picking up players, I like picking up guys younger than 30 (who have some upside) with success in their past, even if checkered, who happen to be on a hot streak.  Being a first round pick also helps.  Jeff Francoeur fit the bill perfectly, so he is my new fourth outfielder.

Can a Met stay healthy? I'm only asking for one week...

Problem is, he is a Met and Mets get hurt.  They just do.  Nothing can stop it.  It’s actually quite unbelievable.  I lost my league last year with Santana, Beltran, Wright and Reyes all spending significant time on the DL on my team.  I promised to never own more than one Met this year (Wright).  The point is, never trust a villain as this promise was just broken.  Luckily, Francoeur only has to stay healthy a week or so until Ellsbury is healthy.

Can he do it?  Maybe…I’m hoping for a heroic act from a player who will hopefully be able to fend off the worst training staff in baseball for just one more week and maintain a modicum of fantasy respectability.  Wish me luck…

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jeff from College Park on April 21, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    No. Not happening. Not ever.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Holgash on April 21, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    Why would we wish you luck if you’re the Villain?

    Reply

  3. Collin is a bastard

    Reply

Leave a Reply

