Overstimulated Other Thoughts

While parked in front of the TV, switching between the NBA playoffs and the draft, with fantasy baseball info updating live on my Macbook, my brain is preparing to melt. Before it does, I felt the need to post some obversations on all three goings on before my head explodes:

  • The draft is stupid. The whole dog-n-pony show is a farce. I find myself tuning in and rapidly changing the channel back to playoff basketball. The thought that it will almost certainly rate higher than basketball on a night when LeBron AND Kobe are playing is just an example of Americans’ blind devotion to football without giving the NBA a chance. There are few things in sports that get me more excited than playoff basketball, and the Super Bowl isn’t one of them (World Cup, Yankees in the playoffs…the Jets last year).
  • What I did catch of the draft made me want to pull the trigger all over Jon Gruden à la this guy. Not every single guy drafted will be a Pro Bowler, but you wouldn’t know it listening to Mr. Gruden. “This guy’s the real deal,” “Earl Thomas will be an All-Pro very soon,” “He’s a heckuva football player.” I know you desperately want another head coaching gig, but showering praise all over every single GM in the NFL on their night to shine is not the way to do it. Okay, rant over.
  • Jake Peavy continues to make everyone wonder what the heck happened to the guy who won the pitching triple crown that one time? 4 IP, 7 hits, 7 walks, 7 runs, 5 Ks. Seven was not my lucky number tonight. He and Scott Baker combined to pretty much nullify yesterday’s beautiful pitching performances.
  • Derrick Rose played better than LeBron James tonight. It was pretty close, and LeBron won the box-score-off (The King had 39 points, 10 boards, 8 assists, 2 steals, 3 blocks, with 5 turnovers vs. Rose’s 32, 7 assists, 2 rebounds, but zero turnovers, and absolutely took over late. There was a stretch where the Cavs were mounting a frenzy of a comeback, but Rose was just doing anything he wanted offensively. He is easily the fastest player in the NBA, and it’s not close. He made Mo Williams/Delonte West look so bad that the Cavs wound up putting Bron Bron on him, which worked. Bulls won though, so that was cool. Sweeps are boring, unless the Yankees do it.

Get out of my way, Saturn

That’s all I got. The one good thing about draft night (recently) is when the Jets pick, and that was a freaking awesome pick in Kyle Wilson. Are you scared yet, league?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Felipe on April 23, 2010 at 10:28 am

    Thankfully they’re the Jets and therefore can never win the Super Bowl

    Reply

  2. Yeah, that whole Joe Namath-predicted biggest upset of all time over the Baltimore Colts totally never happened or anything.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Holgash on April 23, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Sorry Ethan, as far as the Jets go, two things: they’re winning the off-season, which almost always does not lead to winning a Superbowl, and I’m not sold on Mark Sanchez. I don’t think he can win a Superbowl in his second year, maybe he’ll prove me wrong but we’ll see. The Jets are reminding me of an upgraded version Redskins of the past 10 years, they win the off-season but it doesn’t translate to championships. I’m not crazy about Rex Ryan and I think he’ll blow up in the Jets’ face. I could be wrong but that’s what I think.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Alan on April 23, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    The Jets do seem much better than the team that got to the AFC title game, and they were doing pretty well there until those couple of injuries that the Colts drove a truck through.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

