Who Should I Put In My Outfield?

Ludwick is not a good solution to be my 4th outfielder.

Alright, so Jacoby Ellsbury has been out forever and I still have Ryan Ludwick in my outfield.  He has been more incompetent than usual lately so I am considering picking up another outfielder.  Ludwick is a proven power hitter who hit 37 home runs 2 years ago in a career year and over 20 last year.  He has four home runs so far this year, but his average is in the .250s and I don’t think any of his other numbers are worth the risk.

I don’t really want to trade for another outfielder because I am happy with Ryan Braun, Shin-Soo Choo and Alex Rios as my other outfielders and would have nowhere to put any trade acquisitions when Ellsbury comes back.

Here are some of my options in the free agent pool to pick up.  I’ve included my thoughts, but any feedback you can offer should be put in the comments section above:

Josh Willingham– Not only because he is one of the few ownable players on my second-favorite baseball team, but also because he has a good combination of power and speed numbers that is hard to replicate.  His average is only slightly better than Ludwick, but he has speed potential Ludwick lacks even if his power ceiling is lower.

Jose Guillen– He probably should be owned in our league and has been having a comeback season as far as power.  His average is not high and he has never had a season of more than 27 home runs, but early returns are showing his power could be due for an increase this year.

Kosuke Fukodome– He is probably the frontrunner right now to replace Ludwick, well, until one of my leaguemates reads this and picks him up to spite me.  He has the best average of the group and can contribute a little in both power and speed categories.

Let me know what you think.  I can’t handle much more Ludwick (unless this post reverse jinxes him and he gets on a roll again).

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Brando Commando on May 11, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    Correction: WHOM Should I Put In My Outfield?

    PS: Fukodome’s my pick out of those three. Piniella loves him hitting lead-off, and he’s easily in the best lineup of the three. Once D-Lee and A-Ram start hitting a bit, K-Fuk could be a really good run scoring guy.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Holgash on May 12, 2010 at 8:55 am

    You should definitely go with Travis Snider, dude is heating up. Plus you can sell him to someone because he’s a huge prospect who will keep for one next year.

    Reply

  3. Travis Snider is garbage, and the only reason Collin even has the opportunity to pick up Kosuke is because I dropped him when Manny came back.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Holgash on May 12, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Sarcasm Ethan.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

