Hello from France

I’ve landed safely in France, and after 13 hours in transit followed by 8 hours in a French barbecue/birthday party replete with meat (BBQ chicken), salad, olives (still gross, though I tried them again…too salty for any rational human being) and, of course wine and later cheese (I tried 6 different types of wine, 11 glasses in all over the time I was there, though I was encouraged by a drunk frenchman: “If you’re wanting the respect in France, you drink.”)

This is me now.

I realize I have deserted you recently. That’s partly my fault and partly the fault of the American university system. In finals week, it’s damn near impossible to maintain a blog. Add in the stress of planning a trip to Europe three days after finals end, and it’s abso-freaking-lutely impossible to maintain a blog. However, despite having a fair amount of fermented grapes in my system/liver, I can honestly say I’m ready to resume regular blogging for THATV, even though it will be at bizarre hours for me and probably normal hours for me. Expect to learn a decent amount of French along the way.

So with that, on to some random assortment of fantasy tidbits I’ve been thinking of for the past week or two. Enjoy:

  • Collin and I have decided to not link anyone’s name in this blog anymore, unless it’s necessarily to elaborate a point. If you really want to find out any player’s stats, go here. We apologize if this terribly inconveniences you, but I assure you, linking names terribly inconveniences us way more.
  • Josh Willingham continues to be an underrated fantasy asset. Hitting behind Ryan Zimmerman and Adam Dunn, he’ll have plenty of RBI chances and plenty of good pitches to hit. He’s owned in under 50% of Yahoo! leagues, but is ranked in the top-100 in most of them on the season. Something doesn’t add up, and it’s mostly racism. I don’t care if he’s white or underwhelming from an upside standpoint. He’s a guaranteed 25-10 HR-SB lock with a .27o batting average, essentially for free if you’re like me and have Andre Ethier and Curtis Granderson on the DL at the moment.
  • Jason Heyward continues to defy logic. I just like to remind you all of this as you’ve incessantly mocked my far-beyond-creepy mancrush every step of the way, and now you just wish you owned him as I do.
  • Check out my next post for a link to my France trip blog. I’ll still post often here, with posts that guarantee to be longer and more useful, but it’s like 2 a.m. and I have class at 8, so I’m pretty much done for the night, if you’ll excuse me. That blog will have all the wit, but none of this confusing fantasy sports stuff. If you’re expecting pictures though, for the most part, you’ll be out of luck since I don’t own a digital camera. But if I can get my disposable cameras developed here into a CD (which probably won’t happen), you could be in luck. Stay tuned.
4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Becca Hammer on May 24, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    Good post. You missed 2 things:
    1) Not only were you planning a trip to Europe admits finals but you were also planning a trip to the beach. With your wonderful girlfriend.
    2) In this sentence:
    However, despite having a fair amount of fermented grapes in my system/liver, I can honestly say I’m ready to resume regular blogging for THATV, even though it will be at bizarre hours for me and probably normal hours for me.

    I think you mean bizarre hours for you and normal hours for me. Drunk? 😀

    Reply

  2. Bizarre hours for me and normal hours for you. I apologize.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lisa on May 25, 2010 at 12:31 am

    Glad you made it there safely, Ethan! Sounds like you’re having fun already, and I like the new mustache/beret combo.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Holgash on May 26, 2010 at 10:23 am

    http://www.fangraphs.com/blogs/index.php/heyward-and-greatness/

    Figured you would like to read a story about Heyward and his greatness.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

