6 Tiers of Football Teams–Week 3

Bloggers, pundits and sportswriters in general have taken to making power rankings every week for NFL teams.  They mean nothing because they change after the next week of games.

So I decided to slightly amend this pointless endeavor to make it slightly more purposeful–put the teams into further meaningless tiers based on how interesting they are instead of how good they are.  So here goes…

The Most Interesting Team in the League:

Philadelphia Eagles–Because of one man and one man only: Mike Vick.  The Eagles were not expected to be very good this year and they still might not be, but Vick has been unbelievable.  How many times did a defender run up to Vick’s blindside only to have him spin away at the very last second because he is superhuman?  A lot…there is no team in the league I would rather watch right now.

This image has been photoshopped, but I felt it shows the dichotomy of Vick's career.

Perennially Awful Teams That Suddenly Aren’t:

Houston Texans–OK, so it’s not really sudden, it’s been a slow building process for the Texans but they’re finally getting there.  Mario Williams is looking like a great decision and Matt Schaub, Andre Johnson and Arian Foster are looking like one of the best sets of skill position threesomes in the NFL.

Kansas City Chiefs–Completely unexpected and unlikely to continue, but Thomas Jones and Jamaal Charles make up a solid running back combo.  Matt Cassel and the defense have looked average so far, but the Chargers and Browns played poorly in the Chiefs first two games, so their success will likely not continue.

Perennially Decent Teams That Suddenly Aren’t:

Dallas Cowboys–I hate the Cowboys.  But further, they’re actually terrible this year.  Romo hasn’t looked good and they are starting to look significantly older.

Buffalo Bills–Nah, just kidding, they’ve been awful for a long time…pretty much forever actually.

Teams with One or More Interesting Storyline:

New York Jets–How can the Jets respond to enormous preseason hype?  So far, the Jets have been the Jekyll and Hyde of the season so far, but their response to the hype will be an interesting study for future self-indulging football coaches.  Also, LT is reviving his career somewhat quietly for a New York story.

New England Patriots–One interesting storyline, and one storyline only: Tom Brady’s hair…

Baltimore Ravens–Can Joe Flacco be successful with his new toys?  So far the answer has been a resounding “No.”

Cincinnati Bengals– Terrell Owens + Chad Ochocinco = intrigue

Detroit Lions–Regardless of production, Calvin Johnson is fun to watch

My Teams:

New York Giants–Really, every team in the league is interesting to someone.  In a season with only 16 games, even the worst teams remain interesting to their fans until the very end.  Even if the Giants get eliminated from playoff contention before Week 10, I will continue to watch those games because I have to enjoy each and every time I get to watch 60 minutes of Giants football.

Teams That Really Aren’t Interesting To Me:

Every other team.

So there are a lot of teams that just are not that interesting this year, performing right around expectations.  But don’t judge too much after two weeks.  Remember, the Giants were the best team in football right up until about Week 6 last year.  Things change, and when they do, so will my power rankings.

49 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Brian on September 24, 2010 at 12:11 am

    Love the photo. Vick is doing phenomenally. It’ll be interesting to see how people will look at him him if he leads his team to the playoffs.

    Reply

  2. E-A-G-L-E-S EAGLES!!!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by alison on September 25, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    my new favorite team is the kansas city chiefs.
    WOO

    Reply

  4. After I open up your Feed it appears to be a ton of nonsense, is the issue on my side?

    Reply

  5. When I initially commented I clicked the Notify me whenever new comments are added checkbox and currently each time a comment is added I receive four email messages with the exact same comment.

    Reply

  6. Is it fine to put part of this on my personal website if perhaps I submit a reference to this site?

    Reply

  7. Posted by account on June 23, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    Just to let you know your web-site looks a little bit different in Safari on my pc using Linux .

    Reply

  8. Posted by buy leather wallets on June 26, 2012 at 4:25 pm

    I like this blog site layout . How do you make it? Its so sweet.

    Reply

  9. really valuable material, overall I picture this is worthy of a book mark, many thanks

    Reply

  10. Cool post . Thanks for, writing on this blog man. I will message you again! I didnt realise that!

    Reply

  11. I adore the blog site layout . How did you make it. Its rather nice!

    Reply

  12. How did you make your blog site look this good!? Email me if you get the chance and share your wisdom. Id be thankful!

    Reply

  13. The look for your web site is a bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your website. I might have to install a normal browser just to enjoy it.

    Reply

  14. Have you given any consideration at all with converting your current web-site in to French? I know a couple of translaters right here that would certainly help you do it for free if you wanna get in touch with me personally.

    Reply

  15. very helpful material, all in all I imagine this is worthy of a book mark, thanks

    Reply

  16. Have you considered adding several social bookmarking links to these sites. At least for facebook.

    Reply

  17. Just discovered this site thru Google, what a way to brighten up my day!

    Reply

  18. Jesus Christ there is a great deal of spammy feedback on this web page. Have you at any time believed about attempting to eliminate them or installing a extension?

    Reply

  19. I believe that one of your current ads initiated my web browser to resize, you may well need to put that on your blacklist.

    Reply

  20. Have you considered adding a few social bookmarking buttons to these sites. At least for youtube.

    Reply

  21. If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your web page? I am looking for a great web host and your weblog appears to be extremely fast and up almost all the time

    Reply

  22. When I open up your Feed it seems to be a lot of garbage, is the issue on my side?

    Reply

  23. This site has lots of very helpful stuff on it! Thank you for informing me!

    Reply

  24. Whenever I at first commented I clicked on the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and currently each time a remark is added I get 4 emails with the exact same comment.

    Reply

  25. Although I actually like this publish, I believe there was an spelling error shut towards the end from the 3rd sentence.

    Reply

  26. It looks to me that this site doesnt load on a Motorola Droid. Are other people getting the same problem? I like this site and dont want to have to miss it whenever Im gone from my computer.

    Reply

  27. Fantastic Stuff, do you currently have a myspace account?

    Reply

  28. Have you considered adding some social bookmarking links to these sites. At the very least for youtube.

    Reply

  29. Just to let you know your web page appears a little bit different on Firefox on my pc with Linux .

    Reply

  30. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Rss feed is not working today. I tried adding it to my Google reader account but got nothing.

    Reply

  31. Jesus Christ theres a great deal of spammy feedback on this site. Have you actually thought about trying to get rid of them or putting in a plugin?

    Reply

  32. Jesus Christ there is a great deal of spammy feedback on this web page. Have you actually thought about trying to remove them or putting in a wordpress plugin?

    Reply

  33. When I open up your Rss feed it seems to be a ton of garbage, is the problem on my side?

    Reply

  34. This website has some really useful stuff on it! Thank you for informing me.

    Reply

  35. I was wanting to know if you ever thought of replacing the page layout of your website? It is very well written; I enjoy what you have got to state. But maybe you could create a a bit more in the way of written content so people could connect to it better. You have got an awful lot of text for only having one or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

    Reply

  36. You ought to really control the remarks on this website

    Reply

  37. Do you might have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was asking yourself your situation; we now have produced some nice methods and were searching to swap options with other folks, be sure to shoot me an e-mail if serious.

    Reply

  38. Have you considered adding a few social bookmarking buttons to these blogs. At the very least for myspace.

    Reply

  39. Could you message me with some hints & tips about how you made this blog site look this good , I would be thankful!

    Reply

  40. Do youve a spam problem on this internet site; I also am a blogger, and I was questioning your scenario; we now have developed some good strategies and were looking to swap solutions with other people, be certain to fire me an e-mail if serious.

    Reply

  41. I adore the site layout ! How do you make it? Its really nice.

    Reply

  42. You ought to really moderate the remarks at this site

    Reply

  43. Actually when someone doesn’t understand then its up to other people that they will help, so here it happens.

    Reply

  44. Good day very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .
    . Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally? I am satisfied to seek out numerous useful info here within the submit, we’d like work out
    more techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . .
    .

    Reply

  45. Hey there, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Chrome, it looks fine but when opening in Internet
    Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, superb blog!

    Reply

  46. Remarkable! Its genuinely awesome paragraph, I
    have got much clear idea regarding from this article.

    Reply

  47. What’s up to all, the contents existing at this web site are truly awesome for people experience, well, keep up the good work fellows.

    Reply

  48. Hello friends, its fantastic piece of writing about educationand
    entirely defined, keep it up all the time.

    Reply

  49. Hey! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog
    platform are you using for this site? I’m getting tired of WordPress
    because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform.

    I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

